Karl`s PC Help Forums Last active: Never
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

In memory of Karl Davis, founder of this board, who made his final journey 12th June 2007

Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites   Post new thread Poll:
Author: Subject: The Product Id you entered is not valid
LSemmens
Undercover MOD
********


Avatar


Posts: 32767
Registered: 19-11-2004
Location: Riverton, South Australia
Theme: Windows XP Silver
Member Is Offline

Mood: Gone crazy Back soon

[*] Post 359393 posted on 9-12-2008 at 13:26 Reply With Quote
The Product Id you entered is not valid



I luuuuuuurve Windoze! Am currently setting up some older IBM boxes with XP Pro, they each have a genuine M$ sticker on the side with the activation code. The only thing not supplied with the boxes was CD's, fairy snuff, they are old. I have XP Pro CDs SP2 and SP3 but neither will get past the activation code! Short of using my own, I'm stuffed!

Anyone have any ideas why a genuine XP Pro key supplied by M$ themselves cannot be used for an XP Pro installation?
View User's Profile View All Posts By User
grayles
Senior Member
****




Posts: 276
Registered: 4-8-2005
Location: North Wales
Theme: KPCH Default Blue
Member Is Offline

Mood: lurking

[*] Post 359394 posted on 9-12-2008 at 13:51 Reply With Quote


I think you might need to use a disc without any sp updates on them.
Graham
View User's Profile View All Posts By User
Theravad
Super Moderator
*********


Avatar


Posts: 3359
Registered: 7-8-2002
Location: South Coast UK
Theme: Windows XP Silver
Member Is Offline

Mood: Indigo (dark)

[*] Post 359395 posted on 9-12-2008 at 13:56 Reply With Quote


Quote:
Originally posted by LSemmens
I luuuuuuurve Windoze! Am currently setting up some older IBM boxes with XP Pro, they each have a genuine M$ sticker on the side with the activation code. The only thing not supplied with the boxes was CD's, fairy snuff, they are old. I have XP Pro CDs SP2 and SP3 but neither will get past the activation code! Short of using my own, I'm stuffed!

Anyone have any ideas why a genuine XP Pro key supplied by M$ themselves cannot be used for an XP Pro installation?


Are you sure that the sticker is XP-Pro not for an OEM version of home or pro. The OEM keys rarely work with the retail versions of XP. The retail version should have the key with the disk.

T
View User's Profile Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User Theravad's Aim Theravad's ICQ status This User Has MSN Messenger Theravad's Yahoo
Post new thread Poll:

Guest Notice
You are a guest, as a guest you can only see a maximum of 3 posts per thread.

If you want to see the rest, please click here to register.