Karl`s PC Help Forums Last active: Never
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

In memory of Karl Davis, founder of this board, who made his final journey 12th June 2007

Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites   Post new thread Poll:
Author: Subject: updating BIOS
KOUROSH
Custom User Title
*******


Avatar


Posts: 1316
Registered: 31-1-2007
Theme: KF Blue (Default)
Member Is Offline

Mood: No Mood

[*] Post 348876 posted on 12-9-2008 at 13:40 Reply With Quote
updating BIOS



can anyone tell me how can we update BIOS if motherboard could only be used for core2duo but it can be used with quad core after updating bios, and i only have quad core cpu and natually motherboard will not boot till bios is updated. how do we update it??many thanks
View User's Profile View All Posts By User
Daz
Custom User Title
*******


Avatar


Posts: 6630
Registered: 10-8-2002
Location: Deb'n
Theme: KPCH Default Blue
Member Is Offline

Mood: w00t - Lge1 :-))

[*] Post 348887 posted on 12-9-2008 at 15:18 Reply With Quote


AFAIK, you need to drop in a compatible chip so it boots, then update the BIOS.

Not sure you could do it any other way TBH, as until it's got a working chip, it's not going to power up to enable the flash anyway... If that makes sense...?

That's the way I did it anyway, when I encountered this issue sometime ago....
View User's Profile View All Posts By User Daz's Aim This User Has MSN Messenger Daz's Yahoo
KOUROSH
Custom User Title
*******


Avatar


Posts: 1316
Registered: 31-1-2007
Theme: KF Blue (Default)
Member Is Offline

Mood: No Mood

[*] Post 348973 posted on 13-9-2008 at 09:32 Reply With Quote


you are undoubtly right but lets see if anyone can crack it??? many thanks daz
View User's Profile View All Posts By User
Post new thread Poll:

Guest Notice
You are a guest, as a guest you can only see a maximum of 3 posts per thread.

If you want to see the rest, please click here to register.