Karl`s PC Help Forums Last active: Never
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

In memory of Karl Davis, founder of this board, who made his final journey 12th June 2007

Post Reply
Who Can Post? All users can post new topics and all users can reply.
Username   Need to register?
Password:   Forgot password?
Subject: (optional)
Icon: [*]
Formatting Mode:

Insert Bold text Insert Italicised text Insert Underlined text Insert Centered text Insert a Hyperlink Insert E-mail Hyperlink Insert an Image Insert Code Formatted text Insert Quoted text Insert List
HTML is Off
Smilies are On
BB Code is On
[img] Code is On
:) :( :D ;)
:cool: :o shocked_yellow :P
confused2 smokin: waveysmiley waggyfinger
brshteeth nananana lips_sealed kewl_glasses
Show All Smilies

Disable Smilies?
Use signature?
Turn BBCode off?
Receive email on reply?
The file size of the attachment must be under 200K.
Do not preview if you have attached an image.

Topic Review

[*] posted on 1-2-2015 at 23:48
Originally posted by marymary100
But it wouldn't work with people who already do that.

That makes sense. It would only work on someone who had merely heard of Google document sharing, but who had never used it. Or, possibly, on someone like myself who had no knowledge of it, if they were less cautious than I am.

[*] posted on 1-2-2015 at 19:26
But it wouldn't work with people who already do that.

[*] posted on 1-2-2015 at 18:56
I have gotten an e-mail from the fellow, saying, "If you received an e-mail from me with an attachment, don't open it."

So, it appears Katzy is right.

And, those of you with knowledge of sharing documents through Google-- that knowledge must be what makes the idea plausible enough that some people might let out information.

So, it is sorted.

[*] posted on 1-2-2015 at 12:06
Well, the link you gave made my anti-virus go apeshit. Phishing...

[*] posted on 31-1-2015 at 23:47
You could always e-mail him at a known good address and ask if he sent you anything.

[*] posted on 31-1-2015 at 18:34
Originally posted by LSemmens
Is this the page to which you refer????

It is asking you to create a password! When in doubt READ THE INSTRUCTIONS!

The page which appears to me does not display what you picture.

The page I get says "To access our online secured documents page,you are required to login your email address.
Unauthorized Access is prohibited." And, it gives two text boxes, one of which is labeled "Email address" and the other is labeled "Email password." The headline above them says "Sign in with valid email to view your Google document."

There is nothing, anywhere, about creating an email account or password. When the heading says "valid email," it sounds to me as if it requires that you already have an account.

Since I was suspicious, I did not put anything in the text boxes. Perhaps Google assumes that anyone who is trying to access one of these documents would already have a gmail account.

Now that I have been encouraged to think this is legit, I might explore further.

The name that appeared as the source of the document is a man who moved from my area a couple of years ago, and the email address I had for him in my address book was attached to a local ISP. But, as I look closely at the header information, this is from a gmail account.

[*] posted on 31-1-2015 at 12:31
[bad img]http://www.katzy.dsl.pipex.com/Smileys/doh.gif[/bad img]

[*] posted on 31-1-2015 at 11:01

[*] posted on 31-1-2015 at 01:30
Is this the page to which you refer????

It is asking you to create a password! When in doubt READ THE INSTRUCTIONS!

[*] posted on 30-1-2015 at 23:06
Are you sure it is asking for that password and not just for you to create a password to be a recognisable editor of the document?

Google Docs are a well known method for colleagues to work remotely on the same document without the need to be in the same room. Academics use them often.


[*] posted on 30-1-2015 at 22:43
Google is NOT your Friend lips_sealed

[*] posted on 30-1-2015 at 20:01
I got an e-mail, listed as from someone I know (in my e-mail address book), that has a link to a document file supposedly held for me and others to view by Google.

When I clicked on the link, it opened a page in my browser that said I must enter a valid e-mail address to get access to the document.


I might have entered my e-mail address, alone--the original e-mail addressed to me had it in the address line--but, my password? C'mon! wooty

Is anyone familiar with this scam?

(You aren't going to tell me it is legit, are you?)

The address line in my browser for the page is


but I'm not suggesting that anyone go there unless they feel well protected. Once I saw what I thought to be a suspicious request for information, I did nothing else.