Karl`s PC Help Forums Last active: Never
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

In memory of Karl Davis, founder of this board, who made his final journey 12th June 2007

Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites   Post new thread Poll:
Author: Subject: wifi network for lappy has fallen over.
LSemmens
Undercover MOD
********


Avatar


Posts: 32767
Registered: 19-11-2004
Location: Riverton, South Australia
Theme: Windows XP Silver
Member Is Offline

Mood: Gone crazy, Back soo

[*] Post 501238 posted on 28-1-2016 at 08:33 Reply With Quote
wifi network for lappy has fallen over.



My home network has two wired connections and 4 wireless devices connected. Owing to a file sharing issue with one of the machines, I started mucking around with some of the settings on the lappy as it seemed to be the main culprit in not being able to access one other machine. Somewhere along the line I've managed to clobber the network configuration for this machine (all machines running up to date W10, BTW).

I've tried everything - the device tells me it's connected to the router but I can do nothing.
I've deleted all the networking devices and re-installed them. Yet, when I query my router it does not show the lappy as connected even though Lappy tells me that it is connected. The lappy seems to have an assigned IP addy miles outside the range of valid addresses assigned by the router. I'm running around in ever diminishing circles here.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User
John_Little
Chads-r-us...
*******


Avatar


Posts: 10639
Registered: 20-12-2007
Location: Sarf East Lundun
Theme: KF Blue (Default)
Member Is Offline

Mood: Confused

[*] Post 501241 posted on 28-1-2016 at 09:32 Reply With Quote


Are you sure its not connected to some other wireless device? Like the printer or the Television?
View User's Profile View All Posts By User
LSemmens
Undercover MOD
********


Avatar


Posts: 32767
Registered: 19-11-2004
Location: Riverton, South Australia
Theme: Windows XP Silver
Member Is Offline

Mood: Gone crazy, Back soo

[*] Post 501243 posted on 28-1-2016 at 09:50 Reply With Quote


Considering the only device in range is the router. And it accepts the correct password.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User
Post new thread Poll:

Guest Notice
You are a guest, as a guest you can only see a maximum of 3 posts per thread.

If you want to see the rest, please click here to register.