Karl`s PC Help Forums Last active: Never
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

In memory of Karl Davis, founder of this board, who made his final journey 12th June 2007

Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites   Post new thread Poll:
Author: Subject: Partial success loading old (really old) programmes
John_Little
Chads-r-us...
*******


Avatar


Posts: 10765
Registered: 20-12-2007
Location: Sarf East Lundun
Theme: KF Blue (Default)
Member Is Offline

Mood: Confused

[*] Post 499500 posted on 17-11-2015 at 16:56 Reply With Quote
Partial success loading old (really old) programmes



As I was saying in Leigh's thread, I've been trying to load some old programmes from CDs onto my new Acer laptop with windows 10.

Audio cleaning lab 2004 went on with no argument (apart from a compatibility fix) AVS media video editor went on but wouldn't load - party because originally I downloaded it from their website and then bought the license. Now they have been taken over and don't have the version I paid the license for so thats out the window.

Microsoft publisher 2000 started to load then the drive started to make some horrible noises and it stopped. I tried loading the files onto a stick from my old xp desktop computer with a more powerful optical drive but that wouldn't work. So I used an old copy of nero to re-make/copy the installation disk and it worked!

I know they are old programmes but I know how to use them and I'm used to their idiosyncrasies.

Shame about the video editor. That's what I used to do my youtube videos. I wonder if they still do the windows movie maker thing.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User
LSemmens
Undercover MOD
********


Avatar


Posts: 32767
Registered: 19-11-2004
Location: Riverton, South Australia
Theme: Windows XP Silver
Member Is Offline

Mood: Gone crazy, Back soo

[*] Post 499513 posted on 17-11-2015 at 23:57 Reply With Quote


I actually commented in "my" thread about that. How old is the AVS video editor? If it worked in XP, it should work in W10 - Anything prior to that might be a stretch, though.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User
John_Little
Chads-r-us...
*******


Avatar


Posts: 10765
Registered: 20-12-2007
Location: Sarf East Lundun
Theme: KF Blue (Default)
Member Is Offline

Mood: Confused

[*] Post 499525 posted on 18-11-2015 at 08:47 Reply With Quote


The problem is you don't get a cd with the set up on. You have to download it then register it on line to make it work. I have a license to use it forever but would have to download the version I have a license for and its not on the website any more.

I "bought" it in 2007 and I think its actually version 1 dot something. But I copied the files from my old xp computer and did get the setup thing to work and it put the icons on the desktop but when you clicked them nothing happened.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User
Post new thread Poll:

Guest Notice
You are a guest, as a guest you can only see a maximum of 3 posts per thread.

If you want to see the rest, please click here to register.