Karl`s PC Help Forums Last active: Never
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

In memory of Karl Davis, founder of this board, who made his final journey 12th June 2007

Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites   Post new thread Poll:
Author: Subject: Rant - Now it all goes pear shaped!
LSemmens
Undercover MOD
********


Avatar


Posts: 32767
Registered: 19-11-2004
Location: Riverton, South Australia
Theme: Windows XP Silver
Member Is Offline

Mood: Gone crazy, Back soo

[*] Post 499435 posted on 14-11-2015 at 13:57 Reply With Quote
Rant - Now it all goes pear shaped!



Upgraded my media server to W10 a few weeks back and all ran well. I was given two computers to fix for people. One took nearly 2 full days just getting Windoze 7 to load - turned out he was (unbeknownst to him)given a "norty" copy. Fixed that, then his Office 2007 would not load - Key was OK just would not get past a certain point. Got that sorted and returned his machine. Hooray, thinks me, I can now get back to playing catch up on the various movies/tv shows that I had lost track of. My bloody Media server then decides that my 1Tb SATA Video drive is only 33mb. Turns out it's a known issue with Gigabyte Mobos and their BIOS Backup routine. Two days later, and a lot of stuffing around (trying to find this info out) I finally manage to restore the drive to its former glory. Re-install drive to machine, ensuring that it is NOT the first drive in the drive list (for some reason, regardless of the boot order, BIOS gets backed up to the first drive). Power machine up and get a "checking drive for errors" message, only to find that my Documents drive has decided to take a holiday. More critical than losing 1Tb of videos even though it is only about 120Gb. Two more days of stuffing around to recover the data off that drive as something decided that the drive was a RAW drive even though it had a drive letter assigned to it, and I did not have large enough drive to just make an image and then recover data (all other, large, drives were nearing capacity, so I had to stuff around with some 80Gb drives and eventually managed to recover most of the data. I've now got to work through it and sort it again. So far, so good, sort of.

NOW the bloody machine has forgotten it has an optical drive!!!!!!! It's there in BIOS, just not in Windoze!!!!!!angrymad2angrymad2angrymad2

I'm starting to wonder if my MOBO or PSU is failing except that the issues are random and I cannot pin them down to one channel or one power lead.

I've moved drives around and the problem seems to follow the drive - except that this has now occurred on 3 different drives on different channels. If 'twer PSU I'd expect all drives on the bus to fail, not just one.

As I've established that BIOS sees the drive yet WINDOZE does not I thought (dangerous thing, that) I'll just open device manager and re "discover" it - nope! doesn't even acknowledge anything on that channel!!!! Looks like I'm about to re-load Windoze on this machine again!!!! I hope that fixes it 'cause I don't fancy being able to afford a new MOBO, CPU, RAM and PSU in the near future!

End of Rant!!!!!!
View User's Profile View All Posts By User
Katzy
Anything you like
*******


Avatar


Posts: 7564
Registered: 23-7-2002
Theme: Coffee
Member Is Offline

Mood: Fintlewoodlewix.

[*] Post 499437 posted on 14-11-2015 at 16:02 Reply With Quote


Set everything to uninstall, then reboot. :D

Are you plugging the drive straight into a USB port? Some drives won't work, if you plug them into a hub, for whatever reason.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User
LSemmens
Undercover MOD
********


Avatar


Posts: 32767
Registered: 19-11-2004
Location: Riverton, South Australia
Theme: Windows XP Silver
Member Is Offline

Mood: Gone crazy, Back soo

[*] Post 499444 posted on 15-11-2015 at 00:03 Reply With Quote


No, the USB drives are all happy, they are all connected to the MOBO SATA ports. Gonna look at an OS refresh today, I think - cheapest fix. FYI This 'puter has 5 hdds connected to SATA, a BR/DVD drive also on SATA and three USB drives all connected to The MOBO, Keyboard and mouse are the only thing connected via Hub because the machine is mounted into a bookcase under the TV.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User
Post new thread Poll:

Guest Notice
You are a guest, as a guest you can only see a maximum of 3 posts per thread.

If you want to see the rest, please click here to register.