Karl`s PC Help Forums Last active: Never
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

In memory of Karl Davis, founder of this board, who made his final journey 12th June 2007

Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites   Post new thread Poll:
Author: Subject: Skipping graphics for faster speed?
scholar
Knowledge of Ages
*******


Avatar


Posts: 32228
Registered: 14-10-2004
Location: Illinois
Theme: KF Blue (Default)
Member Is Offline

Mood: pensive

[*] Post 498430 posted on 30-9-2015 at 01:01 Reply With Quote
Skipping graphics for faster speed?



I have been using Ruby's desktop computer, which is slower than the most recent ones (less video memory, I think), and crowded web pages load slowly.

I am now using Firefox, but I remember that when I used Opera some years back, I used to be able to check a box which would block displays of pictures. So, I could look at a web-zine page and get the text to read quickly, while only markers would appear for images/pics which didn't really interest me, anyway. (IIRC, Opera would let me click on one of those markers to see the pic if it interested me, but I did not have to wait while everything in a whole catalog of pictures loaded).


Does Firefox have any feature like this? How do I access it?
View User's Profile View All Posts By User
Katzy
Anything you like
*******


Avatar


Posts: 7664
Registered: 23-7-2002
Theme: Coffee
Member Is Offline

Mood: Fintlewoodlewix.

[*] Post 498431 posted on 30-9-2015 at 09:49 Reply With Quote


https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/search/?q=image+block&appver=40.0&platform=windows

:D
View User's Profile View All Posts By User
JackInCT
Custom User Title
*******




Posts: 1482
Registered: 21-4-2007
Theme: KF Blue (Default)
Member Is Offline

Mood: No Mood

[*] Post 498434 posted on 30-9-2015 at 14:34 Reply With Quote


Quote:
Originally posted by scholar
....Does Firefox have any feature like this? How do I access it?


In addition to the URL posted after your query, one of the add ons that I use is "Flash Block". You can, with it, either temporarily disable it, or create a white list of sites that you do want it (Flash) to work on.

I presume that with Firefox you make at least weekly use of its plug in check (add ins/plug ins is 6 of one-half a dozen of another). The USA URL is
https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/plugincheck/

Flash in particular is VERY frequently updated, and its autoupdate feature does NOT work for me.

You will have to query Firefox for the correct URL for your location.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User
Post new thread Poll:

Guest Notice
You are a guest, as a guest you can only see a maximum of 3 posts per thread.

If you want to see the rest, please click here to register.