Karl`s PC Help Forums Last active: Never
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

In memory of Karl Davis, founder of this board, who made his final journey 12th June 2007

Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites   Post new thread Poll:
Author: Subject: Avast! says I have an infected file
scholar
Knowledge of Ages
*******


Avatar


Posts: 32211
Registered: 14-10-2004
Location: Illinois
Theme: KF Blue (Default)
Member Is Offline

Mood: pensive

[*] Post 495913 posted on 17-6-2015 at 23:53 Reply With Quote
Avast! says I have an infected file



When I came upstairs to check the e-mail on our computer just now, there was a DOS-ish looking screen saying that Avast! had scanned files in my computer and found one infected file.

I had not asked Avast to do anything--is this an automatic feature? No one here at the house would have done it--the one other person who is computer-literate was away.

There was aquestion- option to put the infected file in the "chest," I think. Should I do that?

Chrome came on, without me clicking on it, a little earlier. I stopped using Chrome some time back because it had been doing things without my instructions, and I thought it may have had a virus. Perhaps the infected file is part of Chrome? Or attached to it?

We haven't heard from our former Australian expert on these things for quite a while. I think he said he was moving to France. But, I know we have some very smart computer people here.

What should I do?
View User's Profile View All Posts By User
Redwolf5150
Mighty Faerie Hunter
*******


Avatar


Posts: 9185
Registered: 11-3-2006
Location: Northwoods of Wisconsin, USA
Theme: KF Arctic Blue
Member Is Offline

Mood: Call Me GRANDPA!

[*] Post 495915 posted on 18-6-2015 at 00:35 Reply With Quote


Is this the free Avast?
Also, what OS you running these days?

Also, is the computer password protected so only Ruby and yourself can access it?

The last prevents semi-computer literate types from downloading norty stuff.
View User's Profile Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User
John Barnes
Radical Freethinker
*******


Avatar


Posts: 7994
Registered: 3-8-2002
Location: Sowerby Bridge
Theme: Coffee
Member Is Offline

Mood: benign

[*] Post 495919 posted on 18-6-2015 at 06:45 Reply With Quote


Go to start in the little box at the bottom where it says Search files and folders . type in CMD this brings up a command prompt box, right Click on it to be made administrator, accept and where the flashing cursor is Type this SFC/ scannow this will run a full check on all your files and folders and should replace any faulty ones . after this is done update your virus protection and then run a full scan, hope fully without delving further this should bring your computer back to normality jmb
View User's Profile View All Posts By User
Post new thread Poll:

Guest Notice
You are a guest, as a guest you can only see a maximum of 3 posts per thread.

If you want to see the rest, please click here to register.