Karl`s PC Help Forums Last active: Never
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

In memory of Karl Davis, founder of this board, who made his final journey 12th June 2007

Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites   Post new thread Poll:
Author: Subject: Replacing hard drive in lappy
Redwolf5150
Mighty Faerie Hunter
*******


Avatar


Posts: 9185
Registered: 11-3-2006
Location: Northwoods of Wisconsin, USA
Theme: KF Arctic Blue
Member Is Offline

Mood: Call Me GRANDPA!

[*] Post 490044 posted on 4-10-2014 at 15:01 Reply With Quote
Replacing hard drive in lappy



Jackie's lappy, a Gateway running WIN 7, has what I suspect is a failing hard drive. The drive in it is a 500GB and I bought a 320 to replace it. Ran the recovery disks we made for the machine and it runs through the entire process then we get the error message that cannot complete the recovery with the current hardware set up.

Do I HAVE to replace the drive with the same size one in order to use the recovery disks?
View User's Profile Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User
waffler
Proud to be called a BRIT
*******


Avatar


Posts: 7253
Registered: 1-1-2009
Location: Luverne AL U.S.A.
Theme: KF Blue
Member Is Offline


[*] Post 490045 posted on 4-10-2014 at 16:10 Reply With Quote


you can use any size hd :)
View User's Profile View All Posts By User waffler's Yahoo
waffler
Proud to be called a BRIT
*******


Avatar


Posts: 7253
Registered: 1-1-2009
Location: Luverne AL U.S.A.
Theme: KF Blue
Member Is Offline


[*] Post 490046 posted on 4-10-2014 at 16:13 Reply With Quote


google is your friend

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/34174-63-recovery-error-windows-setup-configure-windows

Normally I will install fresh os on new hd and put on saved files off old hd lot easier :):)
View User's Profile View All Posts By User waffler's Yahoo
Post new thread Poll:

Guest Notice
You are a guest, as a guest you can only see a maximum of 3 posts per thread.

If you want to see the rest, please click here to register.