Karl`s PC Help Forums Last active: Never
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

In memory of Karl Davis, founder of this board, who made his final journey 12th June 2007

Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites   Post new thread Poll:
Author: Subject: taking password protection off pdf document
scholar
Knowledge of Ages
*******


Avatar


Posts: 32228
Registered: 14-10-2004
Location: Illinois
Theme: KF Blue (Default)
Member Is Offline

Mood: pensive

[*] Post 477536 posted on 28-9-2013 at 19:41 Reply With Quote
taking password protection off pdf document



Ruby had me retrieve a certain W2 form for her, onto my hard drive. It required a password to open it, and I did so.

I saved the document, with its pdf extension, under another name. When I opened the copy, it again asked for the password. (I had mistakenly thought that the password requirement would not stick to the newly-named copy.)

How can I get this bothersome password protection off it? If I can't, will it cause me a problem in printing it?
View User's Profile View All Posts By User
LSemmens
Undercover MOD
********


Avatar


Posts: 32767
Registered: 19-11-2004
Location: Riverton, South Australia
Theme: Windows XP Silver
Member Is Offline

Mood: Gone crazy, Back soo

[*] Post 477566 posted on 29-9-2013 at 00:35 Reply With Quote


It shouldn't cause a problem when printing. Depending upon your PDF editor, there will be a menu option somewhere to remove the password. If, of course you are only using a "reader", forget it.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User
marymary100
Underwater Plumber
********


Avatar


Posts: 32312
Registered: 9-5-2004
Location: Scotia
Theme: Iconic
Member Is Offline

Mood: fact me

[*] Post 477580 posted on 29-9-2013 at 08:17 Reply With Quote


The protection is to stop you amending the document. The accountant will have done that so that no fraud is committed that he is a party to. You would need Acrobat Pro which I have to amend the document but it will print fine as it is. But a question scholar, why post on here when just printing would have worked that out for you? Pressing "print" would seem way less work than starting a thread. confused2
View User's Profile View All Posts By User
Post new thread Poll:

Guest Notice
You are a guest, as a guest you can only see a maximum of 3 posts per thread.

If you want to see the rest, please click here to register.