Karl`s PC Help Forums Last active: Never
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

In memory of Karl Davis, founder of this board, who made his final journey 12th June 2007

Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites   Post new thread Poll:
Author: Subject: My ISP program doesn't want to hang up
scholar
Knowledge of Ages
*******


Avatar


Posts: 32211
Registered: 14-10-2004
Location: Illinois
Theme: KF Blue (Default)
Member Is Offline

Mood: pensive

[*] Post 462592 posted on 30-8-2012 at 20:30 Reply With Quote
My ISP program doesn't want to hang up



My telephone-modem ISP company's software is supposed to show pictures of little computer screens lighting up as data is received or sent, and a menu which allows me to ask to connect is supposed to change to a menu which asks me if I choose to disconnect, once the connection has been established. There is also supposed to be an option to show a status display (with figures on data sent and data received, with the numbers changing as one is online).

The menu choice to disconnect has stopped appearing, and the status choice is grayed out. The little bar icons of computer screens have not been appearing. The last time I was online, I disconnected by physically pulling the phone line out of the computer modem.

Can someone suggest a program that would break the connection for me, when the main program is failing to do so?

Or, do you have another suggestion?

I am running Windows XP.waveysmiley
View User's Profile View All Posts By User
scholar
Knowledge of Ages
*******


Avatar


Posts: 32211
Registered: 14-10-2004
Location: Illinois
Theme: KF Blue (Default)
Member Is Offline

Mood: pensive

[*] Post 462593 posted on 30-8-2012 at 20:36 Reply With Quote


Oops--I have just realized I am connecting through the Windows OS program, not the software provided by the ISP (as I used to do with Win98SE).:redface)

But, I still am looking for a solution to my problem.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User
marymary100
Underwater Plumber
********


Avatar


Posts: 32271
Registered: 9-5-2004
Location: Scotia
Theme: Iconic
Member Is Offline

Mood: fact me

[*] Post 462594 posted on 30-8-2012 at 20:49 Reply With Quote


Sorry, been on broadband for years so it's difficult for me to remember what to do but you can always physically unplug the telephone cable to free up the line until someone else comes up with a solution.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User
Post new thread Poll:

Guest Notice
You are a guest, as a guest you can only see a maximum of 3 posts per thread.

If you want to see the rest, please click here to register.