Karl`s PC Help Forums Last active: Never
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

In memory of Karl Davis, founder of this board, who made his final journey 12th June 2007

Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites   Post new thread Poll:
Author: Subject: Administrative Login Only In Safe Mode Possible
Psychonautslog
New Member





Posts:
Registered: 1-1-1970
Theme: KF Blue (Default)
Member Is Offline


[*] Post 456693 posted on 4-5-2012 at 07:26 Reply With Quote
Administrative Login Only In Safe Mode Possible



About a month ago I used a 'cleaning program' (CCcleaner) on my laptop. After a restart I found the save data of many games deleted, some games (Civilization) did not run at all anymore. Yet the worst was, that I could only log into my admin account in safe mode. At this time the guest account did still work normal, so I played my games there. Yet since a few days I am now also not able to log into my guest account in normal mode. I have to use safe mode there too.

I tried: system restore, which failed with an error message. New installation of Windows 7, which failed, because you can't install anything in safe mode. Opening new user profiles, which failed, because the 'button' does simply not react.

Is there a way to get my admin rights for normal use back?
View User's Profile View All Posts By User
Katzy
Anything you like
*******


Avatar


Posts: 7564
Registered: 23-7-2002
Theme: Coffee
Member Is Offline

Mood: Fintlewoodlewix.

[*] Post 456694 posted on 4-5-2012 at 09:23 Reply With Quote


Registry cleaners are a BAD idea.

Did you take a backup, from within CCleaner?

If not, you might get some joy if you boot from the W7 disk and do a repair.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User
John_Little
Chads-r-us...
*******


Avatar


Posts: 10633
Registered: 20-12-2007
Location: Sarf East Lundun
Theme: KF Blue (Default)
Member Is Offline

Mood: Confused

[*] Post 457688 posted on 29-5-2012 at 09:16 Reply With Quote


I've never had a problem with C Cleaner. Norton 360 has done some terrrible stuff but not C Cleaner. I'm sure I've been asked at start up if I'd like to do a system restore. And I wasn't aware you couldn't do it in safe mode.

Have you actually set any restore points to return to?
View User's Profile View All Posts By User
Post new thread Poll:

Guest Notice
You are a guest, as a guest you can only see a maximum of 3 posts per thread.

If you want to see the rest, please click here to register.