Karl`s PC Help Forums Last active: Never
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

In memory of Karl Davis, founder of this board, who made his final journey 12th June 2007

Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites   Post new thread Poll:
Author: Subject: Sometimes a Scotsman must weep
Redwolf5150
Mighty Faerie Hunter

Theme: KF Arctic Blue

Mood: Call Me GRANDPA!

[*] Post 387549 posted on 4-9-2009 at 20:45 Reply With Quote
Sometimes a Scotsman must weep

The following will appear on the opinion page of the Merrill Foto News on Sept. 9, 2009

It is August 31 and it is the hardest day of my life, and it was just made more difficult by an Episcopal priest gesturing at me. It is my turn to speak and my legs are now weaker than they have ever been in my life and if there was anything in my stomach, it would probably be coming up about now.

Being someone who is proud of his command of the English language – I better be since I make my living from it – public speaking normally isn’t a problem. You spend a little time; outline what you are going to say and you say it. I have done it so many times in my life it is automatic.

But as I watch my 23-year-old nephew sit down next to me and I find the strength to stand, I feel so inadequate to the task before me. My nephew wipes tears from his eyes and I recall the words spoken to me by my grandfather so many years ago.

“Scottish men do not weep, lad,” he had told me over a scraped knee. It was one of the few memories of my father’s father I have and I squeeze the memory tight, seeking strength from them.