Karl`s PC Help Forums Last active: Never
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

In memory of Karl Davis, founder of this board, who made his final journey 12th June 2007

Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites   Post new thread Poll:
Author: Subject: phpBB3 - Customising with own header
John_Little
Chads-r-us...
*******


Avatar


Posts: 10626
Registered: 20-12-2007
Location: Sarf East Lundun
Theme: KF Blue (Default)
Member Is Offline

Mood: Confused

[*] Post 364186 posted on 30-1-2009 at 12:03 Reply With Quote
phpBB3 - Customising with own header



Just downloaded and installed phpBB3 and trying to find a way to put my own header in the overall_header.html bit.

The problem is, there seems to be a minefield of external CSS and Script files and the installation is permeated with references to "yourdomain.com" references.

I un-installed and re-installed again to see if there was an option of putting in your domain name to overwrite all these references but there was not. I assume I have to trawl through all the code to find how to change all them too.

See the source code and the "yourdomain.com" problem here:-

http://www.cwucapital.org/phpBB3/phpBB3/
View User's Profile View All Posts By User
DeWitch
I just know... naturally
*******


Avatar


Posts: 3316
Registered: 16-8-2004
Location: New England
Theme: Iconic
Member Is Offline

Mood: Lavender Blue;)

[*] Post 364212 posted on 30-1-2009 at 16:40 Reply With Quote


don't know how you are editing or even if this is all that you need
but find this in your source code -


<div id="wrap">
<a id="top" name="top" accesskey="t"></a>
<div id="page-header">
<div class="headerbar">
<div class="inner"><span class="corners-top"><span></span></span>

<div id="site-description">
<a href="./index.php" title="Board index" id="logo"><img src="./styles/prosilver/imageset/site_logo.gif" width="139" height="52" alt="" title="" /></a>
<h1>JOHNLITTLE.COM</h1>
<p>A short text to describe your forum</p>
<p style="display: none;"><a href="#start_here">Skip to content</a></p>
</div>

<div id="search-box">
<form action="./search.php" method="post" id="search">
<fieldset>
<input name="keywords" id="keywords" type="text" maxlength="128" title="Search for keywords" class="inputbox search" value="Search…" onclick="if(this.value=='Search…')this.value='';" onblur="if(this.value=='')this.value='Search…';" />
<input class="button2" value="Search" type="submit" /><br />
<a href="./search.php" title="View the advanced search options">Advanced search</a> </fieldset>
</form>
</div>

My view does not look like the webpage so not sure if that is all you need to change it.
View User's Profile Visit User's Homepage View All Posts By User
Katzy
Anything you like
*******


Avatar


Posts: 7564
Registered: 23-7-2002
Theme: Coffee
Member Is Offline

Mood: Fintlewoodlewix.

[*] Post 364226 posted on 30-1-2009 at 21:36 Reply With Quote


If I remember this correctly...

In the ACP go to Board Configuration -> Board Settings

Change the title, to suit.

If that's wrong, you might like this:

http://www.phpbb-seo.com/boards/phpbb3-seo-toolkit/optimal-titles-vt1289.html
View User's Profile View All Posts By User
Post new thread Poll:

Guest Notice
You are a guest, as a guest you can only see a maximum of 3 posts per thread.

If you want to see the rest, please click here to register.