Karl`s PC Help Forums Last active: Never
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

In memory of Karl Davis, founder of this board, who made his final journey 12th June 2007

Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites   Post new thread Poll:
Author: Subject: Kinda dead PC
Boypete
A legend in the making
*******


Avatar


Posts: 2114
Registered: 17-4-2006
Location: SE London/NW Kent
Theme: Forest
Member Is Offline

Mood: Numb

[*] Post 355642 posted on 1-11-2008 at 21:21 Reply With Quote
Kinda dead PC



Some time back, sons computer kept blue screening. In short, after changing from IE to FF, there's been no problem for weeks.......until yesterday. Several BS's, reboot cycling etc. This morning, POST was fine, but after the Windows loading progress bar, the screen just went blank. As I've checked things, the situation just got worse.
Two sticks of RAM........swapped over, and swapped channels.
Graphics card replaced with known good one.
All data/power cables removed and replaced.
Oh, BTW, it also refused to boot into safe mode..........blank screen with 'safe mode' in each corner.
Changed boot sequence and tried to boot from XP CD......same result.
From that, I assume HDD is not at fault.
BIOS is Award, so no real info available on beep codes.
CPU cooler removed, cleaned, repasted with Actic5 paste and reinstalled.........no change.
I'm all out of ideas now. It's looking like for the first time in my life, I might have to take the damn thing to a shop, and get ripped off!
Anysuggestions welcome
:)
View User's Profile View All Posts By User This User Has MSN Messenger
Daz
Custom User Title
*******


Avatar


Posts: 6630
Registered: 10-8-2002
Location: Deb'n
Theme: KPCH Default Blue
Member Is Offline

Mood: w00t - Lge1 :-))

[*] Post 355644 posted on 1-11-2008 at 21:43 Reply With Quote


RAM checked with Memtest...?

Also, any dodgy connections on the RAM sticks will give some very strange behaviour, so make sure, with a firm, but careful hand, that they're popping in properly...

Also, PSU may have to be a suspect, a dodgy PSU can give flakey errors...
View User's Profile View All Posts By User Daz's Aim This User Has MSN Messenger Daz's Yahoo
Boypete
A legend in the making
*******


Avatar


Posts: 2114
Registered: 17-4-2006
Location: SE London/NW Kent
Theme: Forest
Member Is Offline

Mood: Numb

[*] Post 355647 posted on 1-11-2008 at 21:53 Reply With Quote


I downloaded memtest a few weeks ago, but as we sorted the prob, I never ran it. System has two sticks x 1Gb Crucial. Yep, def seated well.
I accept PSU is a poss, but have no way of checking. It's an Enermax 500W modular. Might pull one from another machine tomorrow.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User This User Has MSN Messenger
Post new thread Poll:

Guest Notice
You are a guest, as a guest you can only see a maximum of 3 posts per thread.

If you want to see the rest, please click here to register.