Karl`s PC Help Forums Last active: Never
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

In memory of Karl Davis, founder of this board, who made his final journey 12th June 2007

Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites   Post new thread Poll:
Author: Subject: memory expert MSI p6n sli plat
KOUROSH
Custom User Title
*******


Avatar


Posts: 1316
Registered: 31-1-2007
Theme: KF Blue (Default)
Member Is Offline

Mood: No Mood

[*] Post 354888 posted on 26-10-2008 at 08:08 Reply With Quote
memory expert MSI p6n sli plat



on my pc when i install the first two ddr2 800 and one ddr21066 everything is fine but when i install the fourth ddr21066 the system either freezes at boot up or while doing something. can any expert in memory tell me which setting in bios i have to adjust so i do not get this freeze up (mouse andkeyboard) , your comment will be much appreciated.(this is definitely a memory related issue)

MSI P6N SLI Platinum
Q6600
MSI 256 graphic card ATI HD 2400
2 GB crucial DDr2800 CL6 and two DDR2 1066 CL5
mastercoll 500Watts
window xpsp2
View User's Profile View All Posts By User
Topcat
Custom User Title
*******




Posts: 755
Registered: 28-1-2003
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Theme: KF Blue
Member Is Offline

Mood: Hopeful.

[*] Post 354889 posted on 26-10-2008 at 08:42 Reply With Quote


Quote:
Originally posted by KOUROSH
on my pc when i install the first two ddr2 800 and one ddr21066 everything is fine but when i install the fourth ddr21066 the system either freezes at boot up or while doing something. can any expert in memory tell me which setting in bios i have to adjust so i do not get this freeze up (mouse andkeyboard) , your comment will be much appreciated.(this is definitely a memory related issue)

MSI P6N SLI Platinum
Q6600
MSI 256 graphic card ATI HD 2400
2 GB crucial DDr2800 CL6 and two DDR2 1066 CL5
mastercoll 500Watts
window xpsp2


At a guess your installing in the wrong sequence particularly as you are using Dual Core.

Have a good look at your manual.

I expect you have two blocks of slots, A1 & B1 are in the first block, A2 and B2 are in the second.
You need to have matched pairs in A1 & A2 (Separate Blocks)
and matched pairs in B1 & B2. (Separate blocks)

I had similar problem when I first set up Dual core.

HTH

Topcat
View User's Profile View All Posts By User
KOUROSH
Custom User Title
*******


Avatar


Posts: 1316
Registered: 31-1-2007
Theme: KF Blue (Default)
Member Is Offline

Mood: No Mood

[*] Post 354891 posted on 26-10-2008 at 09:31 Reply With Quote


topcat thanks , let me explain there are four slots two yelloish followed by two blue, but they are numbered like this 1,3,2,4 which means i put the firsr mwmory in the first slot second memory in the thrd slot(numbered2) third memory in second slot anf ourth one in fourth slot. i have the following config

800 1066 800 1066 still the same problem

800 800 1066 1066 still the same prob

1066 800 1066 800 still the same prob

1066 1066 800 800 still the same prob

the difference between the two is not only memory frequency but CAS latency 800 is CL6 and 1066 is CL5 the 800 is slightly faster than 1066 at 800 MHz

in the manual it say nothing other than they must be matched but i thought thes should be fine ?? somehow it does not like it when i use al four
the cpu is quad core
many thanks
View User's Profile View All Posts By User
Post new thread Poll:

Guest Notice
You are a guest, as a guest you can only see a maximum of 3 posts per thread.

If you want to see the rest, please click here to register.