Karl`s PC Help Forums Last active: Never
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

In memory of Karl Davis, founder of this board, who made his final journey 12th June 2007

Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites   Post new thread Poll:
Author: Subject: PC Build Goof Up - Need Help straightning stuff out..
vchakra23
Familiar Face
**


Avatar


Posts: 97
Registered: 18-1-2005
Location: U.S. Northeast
Theme: XMBX Powder
Member Is Offline

Mood: Somber

[*] Post 346542 posted on 23-8-2008 at 05:09 Reply With Quote
PC Build Goof Up - Need Help straightning stuff out..



I finally took the plunge and decided to build my own pc for the first time. I ordered the following components :

Thermaltake CASE TT|VI1000BWS RT

Seagate HD 750G|ST 7K 16M SATA2 ST3750640AS


PSU: Thermaltake TT|W0106RU 700W RT

MOBO : MB GIGABYTE GA-EP45C-DS3R 775 P45 R

Graphics Card:
VGA EVGA 512-P3-N862-AR 9600GT RT

Memory
MEM 2Gx2|OCZ OCZ3G16004GK R - Retail (Qty=1,


Processor : Intel Quad Q9450, the 45nm processor

I followed the manual and some You Tube Videos to help me through the install. I got all the components mounted in. I used the anti-static glove and even wore rubber slipper so I wouldn't short anything via static.

Problem: Nothing comes up when I boot up. I switch on the computer., I can see the cpu fan turn, I can see the PSU come on and the fan turn, I can see both the Blue led's in the case fans light up with the fans turning.

I have connected the monitor to the graphics card, but nothing on the monitor shows up though the fan on the graphics card is also running.

I think the HDD is also running, but I don't see the power light in front of the system for the HDD status.

I'm not sure what I missed. But nothing shows up on the monitor. The computer runs a few secs shutsdown on its own and reboots again to do the same thing about 3 times.

What do I do to isolate the problem. I am quite sure I goofed up something on the installation, but am not sure where to begin.

As usual, I had to turn my venerable friends here to help me out....

Thanks,
Rip...

Let me know if you folks need any picture of the install if it will help...
View User's Profile View All Posts By User
Katzy
Anything you like
*******


Avatar


Posts: 7564
Registered: 23-7-2002
Theme: Coffee
Member Is Offline

Mood: Fintlewoodlewix.

[*] Post 346551 posted on 23-8-2008 at 10:36 Reply With Quote


Obvious first suggestion: Make sure everything's connected, properly.

My first susepcts would be the front-panel connectors.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User
Daz
Custom User Title
*******


Avatar


Posts: 6630
Registered: 10-8-2002
Location: Deb'n
Theme: KPCH Default Blue
Member Is Offline

Mood: w00t - Lge1 :-))

[*] Post 346563 posted on 23-8-2008 at 16:00 Reply With Quote


Try seperate sticks of RAM, and maybe try swapping slots.

Can you test the GFX card in another unit...?

Might also be worth trying with minimal components. (No HDD, CD/DVD Drive, etc...)
View User's Profile View All Posts By User Daz's Aim This User Has MSN Messenger Daz's Yahoo
Post new thread Poll:

Guest Notice
You are a guest, as a guest you can only see a maximum of 3 posts per thread.

If you want to see the rest, please click here to register.