Karl`s PC Help Forums Last active: Never
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

In memory of Karl Davis, founder of this board, who made his final journey 12th June 2007

Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites   Post new thread Poll:
Author: Subject: Can I rapair XP home with a XP pro cd?
grayles
Senior Member
****




Posts: 276
Registered: 4-8-2005
Location: North Wales
Theme: KPCH Default Blue
Member Is Offline

Mood: lurking

[*] Post 331444 posted on 19-4-2008 at 16:23 Reply With Quote
Can I rapair XP home with a XP pro cd?



I have my brothers computer here, it is in a reboot loop. Whatever option I try it just reboots.

Im guessing that a repair to windows might work.
However the computer has XP home on it but I only have a XP pro cd, will it be ok.

Also I do not have his XP licence number, will I need it?

I do have a new unused XP pro licence number which I bought for my old machine but bought a new computer instead, as a last resort I could use this and put pro on his computer but I am reluctant as I dont want to waste it.

Thanks,

Graham.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User
Katzy
Anything you like
*******


Avatar


Posts: 7670
Registered: 23-7-2002
Theme: Coffee
Member Is Offline

Mood: Fintlewoodlewix.

[*] Post 331465 posted on 19-4-2008 at 20:12 Reply With Quote


A repair is doubtful.

However, an upgrade might just work.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User
KOUROSH
Custom User Title
*******


Avatar


Posts: 1316
Registered: 31-1-2007
Theme: KF Blue (Default)
Member Is Offline

Mood: No Mood

[*] Post 331467 posted on 19-4-2008 at 20:15 Reply With Quote


Repair NO, No 100%
View User's Profile View All Posts By User
Post new thread Poll:

Guest Notice
You are a guest, as a guest you can only see a maximum of 3 posts per thread.

If you want to see the rest, please click here to register.