Karl`s PC Help Forums Last active: Never
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

In memory of Karl Davis, founder of this board, who made his final journey 12th June 2007

Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites   Post new thread Poll:
Author: Subject: Wireless connection
Roadrunner
New User
*


Avatar


Posts: 8
Registered: 6-2-2008
Theme: KF Blue (Default)
Member Is Offline

Mood: No Mood

[*] Post 324234 posted on 6-3-2008 at 20:11 Reply With Quote
Wireless connection



I currently use a desktop connected via adsl modem from the main BT line box. Can I connect a wireless router via a dual plug from the linebox to work a wireless laptop and leave the modem to work the desktop,
View User's Profile View All Posts By User
Daz
Custom User Title
*******


Avatar


Posts: 6630
Registered: 10-8-2002
Location: Deb'n
Theme: KPCH Default Blue
Member Is Offline

Mood: w00t - Lge1 :-))

[*] Post 324293 posted on 7-3-2008 at 02:24 Reply With Quote


The easiest way, IMHO, is something LIKE THIS

You config the Router (with built in ADSL Modem) with your current modem details... EG. Username/Password and Dialup number. (Usually 0.38 etc)

Then just set the Wireless side of things how you want them...
View User's Profile View All Posts By User Daz's Aim This User Has MSN Messenger Daz's Yahoo
SRD
rantipole
*******


Avatar


Posts: 1928
Registered: 12-1-2008
Location: Wiltshire, UK
Theme: Calm
Member Is Offline

Mood: No Mood

[*] Post 324305 posted on 7-3-2008 at 08:15 Reply With Quote


You could do, but wireless modems often have ethernet connections as well and you could use that if you want a wired connection, I'm assuming that you don't have the wireless facility on your PC.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User
Post new thread Poll:

Guest Notice
You are a guest, as a guest you can only see a maximum of 3 posts per thread.

If you want to see the rest, please click here to register.