Karl`s PC Help Forums Last active: Never
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

In memory of Karl Davis, founder of this board, who made his final journey 12th June 2007

Printable Version | Subscribe | Add to Favourites   Post new thread Poll:
Author: Subject: NIC Assistance Please
LSemmens
Undercover MOD
********


Avatar


Posts: 32767
Registered: 19-11-2004
Location: Riverton, South Australia
Theme: Windows XP Silver
Member Is Offline

Mood: Gone crazy, Back soo

[*] Post 313855 posted on 29-12-2007 at 08:27 Reply With Quote
NIC Assistance Please



I'm fixing a friends 'puter, all HWare seems ok despite low spec (256Mb Shared Ram, 80Gb HDD, Via C3 800MHz CPU, 6A6LUG0JC MOBO) so software is most likely the issue.
XPSP2 with all updates.

As they are on dial up, I thought I'd plug the box into my DLink DSL-G604T DSL Router and download updates for the various security packages. This is where I run into strife. Every other PC I've plugged into the router is automatically detected, Not this one! I've tried to repair the network connection, turned off the Firewall (you don't want to know which one!) Flushed DNS, I even tried a static IP. I've even The system only reports limited connectivity! I've swapped cables and ports on the router and they all work on my main box, just not this one! Ipconfig /renew just times out! What am I missing?
View User's Profile View All Posts By User
Topcat
Custom User Title
*******




Posts: 755
Registered: 28-1-2003
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Theme: KF Blue
Member Is Offline

Mood: Hopeful.

[*] Post 313856 posted on 29-12-2007 at 08:58 Reply With Quote


You don't say whether your have an on-board Nic or a PCI plugin, but have you also activated the NIC through the BIOS and de-activated the Modem.
Also in Internet Options there are options for dialing out they need to be changed.


Topcat.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User
LSemmens
Undercover MOD
********


Avatar


Posts: 32767
Registered: 19-11-2004
Location: Riverton, South Australia
Theme: Windows XP Silver
Member Is Offline

Mood: Gone crazy, Back soo

[*] Post 313860 posted on 29-12-2007 at 10:14 Reply With Quote


On board everything, except modem only one PCI Slot, so can't even install another NIC. This was a budget machine whose intent was never to be upgraded. BIOS has NIC activated. As for the other changes that you've suggested, No other machine that I've used has required that drastic action. My main machine is set up with a dial up connection as a fallback, as is my laptop and just about every other PC in my house.

The MOBO was reported incorrectly by Everest, it's actually a Gigabyte GA-PCV2. It is very compact with room for one stick of RAM, One PCI card, 4 IDE devices and nothing else.
View User's Profile View All Posts By User
Post new thread Poll:

Guest Notice
You are a guest, as a guest you can only see a maximum of 3 posts per thread.

If you want to see the rest, please click here to register.