Karl`s PC Help Forums Last active: Never
Not logged in [Login ]
Go To Bottom

In memory of Karl Davis, founder of this board, who made his final journey 12th June 2007

Post Reply
Who Can Post? All users can post new topics and all users can reply.
Username   Need to register?
Password:   Forgot password?
Subject: (optional)
Icon: [*]
Formatting Mode:
Normal
Advanced
Help

Insert Bold text Insert Italicised text Insert Underlined text Insert Centered text Insert a Hyperlink Insert E-mail Hyperlink Insert an Image Insert Code Formatted text Insert Quoted text Insert List
Message:
HTML is Off
Smilies are On
BB Code is On
[img] Code is On
:) :( :D ;)
:cool: :o shocked_yellow :P
confused2 smokin: waveysmiley waggyfinger
brshteeth nananana lips_sealed kewl_glasses
Show All Smilies

Disable Smilies?
Use signature?
Turn BBCode off?
Receive email on reply?
The file size of the attachment must be under 200K.
Do not preview if you have attached an image.
Attachment:
    

Topic Review
Katzy

[*] posted on 12-11-2015 at 21:42
Depends... If you use this one, I believe it removes them when you shut the browser down. You can set most browsers to do that, anyway.

The thing that Firefox used to be awful at was cookie handling. Dunno if it's improved much. I rarely use Firefox, now. The PaleMoon fork seems to be much better, for me.
JackInCT

[*] posted on 12-11-2015 at 20:36
Quote:
Originally posted by Katzy
.....http://configfox.sourceforge.net/


I have a question re your suggestion for that add on for Firefox (Config.fox).

Possibly one of the largest freeware software categories are the history/tracks erasers. And most of them seem to be periodically updated with CCleaner leading the pack with the frequency of new versions.

And most of these "erasers" have a section devoted to Firefox and a series of check off boxes as to what 'parts' of Firefox the end user wishes to erase. Many, if not most, of these erasers have to be manually 'activated' by the end user when you close out the browser, i. e., the onus is on the end user to remember to use them.

My question is whether this add on and just about any of these erasers are actually doing redundant work (overlap), i. e., if you use one, you really don't need to use the other?
Katzy

[*] posted on 12-11-2015 at 19:37
Type "about:config" in the address bar and hit "Enter".

Scroll down to the following keys and click them to change the value to "false".:

toolkit.telemetry.archive.enabled
toolkit.telemetry.enabled
toolkit.telemetry.unified

Or, you can do it using this:

http://configfox.sourceforge.net/